Section Navigation

Science

Science at St Peter's Aim

“To develop a complete mind: Study the science of art; Study the art of science.  Learn how to see.  Realize that everything connects to everything else.” - -Leonardo da Vinci

 We are surrounded by technology and the products of science every day. The immensely complex natural world that surrounds us illustrates infinite scientific concepts. As children grow up in an increasingly technologically and scientifically advanced world, they need to be scientifically literate to succeed.

Science is an essential subject that teaches not only the basic theories and principles of the subject but also a way of inquiring, questioning and analysing things around us. The science curriculum has been designed to ensure pupils gain a solid foundation in all three sciences but also be able to develop their ability to evaluate information to formulate conclusions.

 The curriculum in science has been developed to gradually develop understanding of topics throughout pupil’s time at St Peter’s. By revisiting and building on knowledge progressively will embed understanding. Furthermore the curriculum is being developed so links can be made between the different topics and subjects, which will deepen understanding of the subject.

 This will enable pupils to feel more confident in their knowledge. Thus be able to use their knowledge and understanding to communicate effectively about the subject outside of education.

 With the rapid development of technology and scientific issues that affect everyone; such as global warming, vaccinations, GM foods and cloning, to name but a few, our pupils will have developed the skills to analyse information and evaluate advantages and disadvantages and draw their own conclusions on the best choice for them. Science should be exciting for young people, giving them skills and opportunities to improve their futures.

Teachers of Science:

Name

Title

Email

Miss H Ball

Head of Science

hball@stpetershuntingdon.org/

Miss J Lester

Leader of KS3 Science and Departmental Behaviour

jlester@stpetershuntingdon.org/

Miss B Richardson

Head of KS5 Science

brichardson@stpetershuntingdon.org/

Mr T MacLennan

Teacher of Science and Science Primary Outreach Coordinator

tmaclennan@stpetershuntingdon.org/

Mr A Barnard

Teacher of Science (Head of Year 8)

abarnard@stpetershuntingdon.org/

Mrs R Cockman

Teacher of Science

rcockman@stpetershuntingdon.org/

Miss L Fox

Teacher of Science

lfox@stpetershuntingdon.org/

Mrs S Hilton

Teacher of Science

shilton1@stpetershuntingdon.org/

Dr J Johnson

Teacher of Science

jdjohnson@stpetershuntingdon.org/

Mr R Johnson

Teacher of Science

rjohnson@stpetershuntingdon.org/

Mr L Laghi

Teacher of Science

llaghi@stpetershuntingdon.org/

Ms K MackKenzie

Teacher of Science

kmackenzie@stpetershuntingdon.org/

Mr A Readyhoof

Teacher of Science

areadyhoof@stpetershuntingdon.org/

Miss L Watts

Teacher of Science

lwatts@stpetershuntingdon.org/

Mrs S Williams

Teacher of Science (Assistant Head teacher)

swilliams@stpetershuntingdon.org